Here is the list of endangered products nominated by Relais & Chateaux chefs to get on board of Slow Food’s Ark of Taste; each chef is saving near-extinct foods in their respective terroir to ensure the preservation of culinary heritage, which culminates into the 2021 Food for Change campaign.


Argentina – White Carob Flour – nominated by Léo Bramajo of El Colibri

Argentina – Amaranth – nominated by Pedro Bargero of Chila

Argentina – Pitanga – nominated by Manuel Agrelo of Awasi Iguazu

Argentina – Ulluco – nominated by General Manager Daiana Salcini of House of Jasmines

Australia – Murray Cod – nominated by Josep Espuga of Laura at Pt Leo Estate

Canada – Climbing Prairie Rose – nominated by Jason Bangerter, Erin Laskis of Langdon Hall Canada

Canada – Cynamoka berry – nominated by Carmen Ingham of Wickaninnish Inn

Canada – Traditional Herbes Salées – nominated by Alex Bouchard, Jean-François Bédard of Auberge Saint-Antoine 

Chile – White Carob Flour – nominated by Juan Pablo Mardones of Awasi Atacama

Costa Rica – Jicote Barcino Honey – nominated by chef Nicolás Di Paolo and Maria Barquero of El Silencio

Costa Rica – Malanga – nominated by chef Quentin Villers of Nayara Springs

Ecuador – Chontaduro – nominated by Chef Cristian Puente G. of Pikaia Lodge

Ecuador – Manabí white butter – nominated by Javier Urrutia of Hotel del Parque

Ecuador – Sal prieta – nominated by Francisco Vintimilla of Origin & Theory Galapagos

Ecuador – Sal prieta – nominated by Wilson Alpala of Zazu

France – Alsatian Sauerkraut – nominated by Wagner Sarah of La Maison des Têtes 

France – Cévennes Pellegrina chestnut – nominated by Michel Kayser of Michel Kayser – Restaurant Alexandre 

France – Farmhouse Pont-l’Évêque – nominated by Mathieu Pouleur of La Ferme Saint-Siméon

France – Raw Milk Farmhouse Chaource – nominated by Arnould Melanie, Chef Philippe Mille of Domaine Les Crayères

France – Raw Milk Farmhouse Livarot – nominated by Mathieu Pouleur of La Ferme Saint-Siméon

France – Martigues Mullet Bottarga – nominated by Manon Fleury of Monte Carlo Beach

France – Persillé de Tignes Cheese – nominated by Dumas Julien of Saint James Paris 

France – Planèze Blonde Pea – nominated by César Troisgros of Troisgros 

French Polynesia – Vana – nominated by Laurent Campi of Le Taha’a

Guatemala – Ixcán Cardamom – nominated by Maria Fernanda Valdes (Chef Alvari Perera) of Casa Palopó

India – Kumatiya – nominated by Megha Verma of Suján JAWAI 

India – Seeraga Samba rice – nominated by Kannan Sridhar of Svatma, Thanjavur

Ireland – Irish Dexter Breed – nominated by Stephen Hayes of Cashel Palace

Italy – Chioggia Marina Pumpkin – nominated by Massimiliano Alajmo of Le Calandre 

Italy – Mountain Pasture Maschèrpa – nominated by Il Luogo di Aimo e Nadia

Italy – Pesca Dessié – nominated by Giorgio Servetto of Villa della Pergola

Italy – Ragusa Carob – nominated by Vincenzo Candiano of Locanda Don Serafino 

Italy – Siena buristo – nominated by Juan Camilo Quintero of Borgo San Felice 

Italy – Spelt from Garfagnana – nominated by Maja, Luca Landi of Hotel Plaza e de Russie | Lunasia restaurant

Italy – ​​Vaciarin Valsesiano – nominated by Fabrizio Reffo of Gallia Palace Beach – Golf – Spa – Resort

Italy – Valdarno Black Chicken – nominated by Gaetano Trovato of Arnolfo Ristorante

Italy – Venosta Valley Apricot – nominated by Egon Heiss of Castel Fragsburg

Italy – Wrinkled Meremma chickpea – nominated by Fabrizio Reffo of Gallia Palace Beach – Golf – Spa – Resort

Italy – Zotolo – nominated by Loris Indri of Hôtel Londra Palace

Japan – Akabana soba – nominated by Chef Etsunobu Takahashi / Osamu Suzuki of Nishimuraya Honkan 

Japan – Akita Hatahata Shottsuru – nominated by Chef Namae-san of L’Effervescence

Japan – Ugo – nominated by Chef Izumi of Kanamean Nishitomiya 

Japan – Yashiro Okra – nominated by Chef Yama of Kobe Kitano Hotel

Japan – Yubeshi of Tenryu – nominated by Chef Tanabe of Hikariya-Nishi / Tobira Onsen Myojinkan

Mexico – Tequila Volcano blue mushroom – nominated by Eduardo Marin, Genoveva Garcia of Hotel Solar de las Animas

Morocco – Argan oil – nominated by Ahmed Handour of L’Heure Bleue Palais

Morocco – Berkoukech with Rubia – nominated by Ahmed Handour of L’Heure Bleue Palais

Morocco – Honey from the Inzerki beehive – nominated by Jean-Claude Olry of  Villa des Orangers  

New Zealand – Wessex saddleback pig – nominated by Jimmy McIntyre of Otahuna Lodge 

Peru – Paiche – nominated by Isaac Saavedra of Delfin Amazon Cruises

Poland – Dunajec Valley Piękny Jaś Beans – nominated by Marcin Popielarz of Hotel Quadrille

Poland – Sapiezanka Pear – nominated by Anna Kozera of Hoel Copernicus 

Portugal – Alentejana cattle breed – nominated by Rodrigo Madeira of Herdade da Malhadinha Nova

Portugal – Lusitânica Black Chicken – nominated by Ricardo Costa of The Yeatman

Romania – ​​Copălău garlic – nominated by Bogdan Alexandrescu of Epoque Hotel 

Sri Lanka – Blue Waterlily Root – nominated by Susantha Medagedara of Wild Coast Tented Lodge

Sri Lanka – Gambooge – nominated by Ranil Yatagara of Ceylon Tea Trails

South Africa  – Buchu – nominated by Peter Tempelhoff of Ellerman House

South Africa – Spekboom – nominated by Tamlin Wightman of Jabulani 

Spain – Albesa Pink Tomato – nominated by Veronica Mansson and Alain Guiard of Hotel Neri

Spain – Asturian Pita Pinta Chicken – nominated by Sandra Etcheverry of Palacio de Luces

Spain – Crow corn – nominated by Luisa Lorenzo García of A Quinta da Auga Hotel & Spa

Spain – Galician chestnut – nominated by Luisa Lorenzo García of A Quinta da Auga Hotel & Spa

Spain – Iberian Pork – nominated by Toño Pérez of Atrio Restaurante Hotel

Spain – Maellana sheep – nominated by Rubén Calatán of La Torre del Visco

Spain – Millo corvo – nominated by Chef Federico López Arcay of A Quinta da Auga Hotel & Spa 

Spain – Requeixo Cheese – nominated by Luisa Lorenzo García of A Quinta da Auga Hotel & Spa

Spain – Sigüenza Black Wheat – nominated by Samuel Moreno of Molino del Alcuneza

Switzerland – Graubünden Dried Beef – nominated by Chef Bernd Fabian of Chasa Montana 

Switzerland – Montreux Black Cherry – nominated by Mittermair Barbara of Hotel Victoria

Taiwan – Sun dried fire shrimp of Tainan – nominated by Chia-cheng Chang, Franz Huick of Volando Urai

The Netherlands – Brabant Gray Buckwheat – nominated by Raymond Remmen of Château Neercanne 

Turkey – Topaç garlic – nominated by Saygın Sesli, Tolga Tosun of Museum Hotel

UK – Badger faced Welsh Mountain Sheep – nominated by Gareth Stevenson of Palé Hall

UK – Cornish saffron cake – nominated by Dorian Janmaat of Idle Rocks

UK – Devon red ruby cattle – nominated by Michael Caines of Lympstone Manor

USA – Alaskan Birch syrup – nominated by Loic Leperlier of The Point

USA – Blenheim apricot – nominated by David Kinch of Manresa

USA – Candy Roaster Squash – nominated by Jake Schmidt of The Swag

USA – Fox Grape – nominated by Chef Gunnar Thompson of Glenmere Mansion

USA – Hihiwai – nominated by Krista Garcia of Hotel Wailea

USA – Jimmy Nardello’s Sweet Italian Frying Pepper – nominated by Robert Curry of Auberge du Soleil

USA – Opae’ula – nominated by Krista Garcia of Hotel Wailea

USA – O’opu nōpili – nominated by Krista Garcia of Hotel Wailea

USA – Sebastopol Gravenstein Apple – nominated by Kyle Connaughton of SingleThread 

USA – Staghorn Sumac – nominated by Chef Daniel Boulud of Restaurant DANIEL

USA – Ulu – nominated by Krista Garcia of Hotel Wailea

USA – Wild ramp – nominated by James McNamee of Ocean House