The basic unit of classification of living organisms and groups living organisms with a common genetic heritage.


The genus Apis is divided into 4 main species of bees:

Apis florea
(India, Borneo, Burma)

Apis dorsata
(India, Philippines)

Apis Cerana
(Asia, China, India, Japan, Siberia)

Apis mellifica or mellifera, or “honey bee”
(Europe, Africa, Asia; it was then introduced to the Americas, Australia and New Zealand).


The mellifera is the most commonly used bee for honey production and is divided into subspecies that include more than 30 races.